Vani Samanvay Award

Vani-Samanvay Distinguished Translator Award 2015

As the India Habitat Centre (IHC) gears up to celebrate the 5thedition of its Indian Languages Festival – ILF Samanvay  2015, the commitment of this space to the development of a democracy of Indian languages  is asserted by the announcement of a new translation Award, apart from the annual ILF Samanvay Bhasha Samman. This relevant annual award jointly instituted by the IHC and Vani Foundation and named Vani-Samanvay Distinguished Translator Award is a marker of the dedication of both these organisations to the cause of Indian Languages.

Scheduled from 26 to 29 November 2015, ILF Samanvay 2015 has expanded its scope to engage a wider section of the society.  It is as part of enlarging its mandate that a national level award for a distinguished translator who has contributed in a sustained and quality manner towards direct exchanges between two Indian languages, has been instituted. This award will be given as part of the activities initiated by ILF Samanvay every year. The India Habitat Centre and Vani Foundation have jointly conceptualised this award in view of the lack of recognitions encouraging direct exchanges between Indian languages without a mediating language. This award is hoped to encourage contemporary translators in the linguistically diverse sub-continent with a rich history of literary exchange.

The award is worth INR 1,00,000 (Rupees One lakh) and as far as possible this award will consider translators directly translating between two Indian languages and have sustained this activity for a considerable period of time and produced a remarkable body of work. The jury of the award include writers NamitaGokhale, Ashok Vajpeyi, RizioYohannan Raj, IHC Programmes Director Vidyun Singh, NBT Director and writer Rita Choudhury, andwriter-scholar Rita Kothari.

Announcing the institution of Vani-Samanvay Distinguished Translator Award on Monday 19 Oct 2015, the Director of India Habitat Centre, RakeshKacker said: “I am delighted that this award has fructified in a very short period. Thanks and Congratulations to all who have made this happen. The addition of this award to ILF Samanvay’s range of activities will help to enrich the festival and its institutional mission.  It would also strengthen the important work of translation and help different linguistic groups in the country to communicate meaningfully with one another.”Arun Maheshwari, the Chairman of Vani Foundation, that has co-founded the Award, said on the occasion: “Our country’s rich cultural diversity and its expression into arts and literature have been largely unexplored. Vani Foundation was established with the mission of not only re-discovering these idioms, but also connecting Indian languages with one another and with the world. We found congruence of energy and vision with the new team at ILF Samanvayand therefore feel proud to announce Vani-Samanvay Distinguished Translator Award. The award is committed to celebrate the unsung heroes of Indian translation fraternity, especially those who have tirelessly dedicated themselves to not only translating between two languages, but also bridging two cultures.”

The Vani-Samanvay Distinguished Translator award is in keeping with the great emphasis ILF Samanvay has laid on translation this year. The festival has initiated a collaborative translation project with the School of Translation Studies and Training, IGNOU, besides three festival panels dedicated exclusively to look at various issues concerning translation in the county.

Long List published on 30th October 2015

  1. Attoor Ravi Varma (Tamil-Malayalam)
  2. Basudev Das (Ahomiya-Bangla)
  3. Hundraj Balwani (Sindhi-Gujarati)
  4. Jerry Pinto (Marathi-English)
  5. Lakshmi Holmstrom (Tamil-English)
  6. Monalisa Jena (Ahomiya-Odiya)
  7. Nishan Singh (Hindi-Manipuri)
  8. Pratibha Dave (Marathi-Gujarati)
  9. Ram Shankar Dwivedi (Bangla-Hindi)
  10. Santhosh Alex (Malayalam-Hindi)
  11. Sushant Jha (English-Hindi)